Our CSR methodology

Fairmakers bases its CSR assessments and data collections on international standards and norms and local regulations:

Global Compact France (ODD), ISO 26000 and ISO 14001 in addition to sectoral CSR initiatives.

_____ A CSR ASSESSMENT HARMONIZED WITH INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS

The Fairmakers Assessment provides a relevant CSR assessment of the company's environmental, social and governance performance.

 

The analysis of the ESG performance of a company meets specific criteria specific to the sector of activity and the category of company. The indicators offered by the Fairmakers platform are adapted to the activity of each company and guarantee a high quality of analysis and a uniform rating structure. The results are reviewed by Fairmakers' internal validation committee.

The specific questionnaires and the rating methodology are regularly discussed with Fairmakers' external rating committee, made up of highly recognized ESG experts.

MULTISECTORAL CSR / ESG INDICATORS AND ASSESSMENTS

48 ESG criteria processed for all types of industries are evaluated on our SaaS Fairmakers platform. The criteria are based on 5 pillars.

Social & Human Rights

Environmental

Working conditions, child labor and forced labor, discrimination and harassment, fundamental rights, freedom of association, career management and training, social dialogue, labor migration, employee participation, equal opportunities.

Consumption of energy and greenhouse gases, water, biodiversity, local and accidental pollution, materials / chemicals and waste, end-of-life products, economical management of resources, prevention and environmental awareness among people.

Responsible purchasing

Hygiene, Health & Safety

Ethics & Governance

Sustainable consumption, responsible sourcing, commitment to the common well-being, awareness of teams and integration of indicators, supplier commitments, supply traceability, product safety, continuous improvement.

Employee health and safety, occupational hygiene, psychosocial stress, local communities, involvement in society, organization, accidentology, well-being and psychosocial risks.

Raison d'être, teams integrated into

CSR, corruption and transparency, anti-competitive practices, responsible information management, taxes and taxation, equality and integrity, risk prevention and stakeholder awareness, duty of vigilance, customer relations

Harmonization of ISO 26000 & ISO 14001, GRI standards

and UN ODD Global Compact

The Fairmakers CSR assessment is based on a method harmonized with the main international standards. In order to facilitate the preparation of extra-financial reports, the ISO 26000 standard has been harmonized with the main Global Compact and GRI standards.

 

The Fairmakers assessment is intended to be as neutral as possible in order to allow comparability of performance between the different organizations, whatever the standard adopted.

Fairmakers aligns with the 10 principles of the Global Compact and the 17 SDGs which are a shared agenda.

Example:

ISO 26000

7.6 Améliorer la crédibilité en matière de responsabilité sociétale

6.4.3 Relations et conditions de travail : emploi et relations employeur/employé

GLOBAL COMPACT

-

SDG 3

GRI

3.5 - 3.6 - 3.7 - 3.8 - 3.9 - 3.10 - 3.11 - 3.12 - 3.13

LA4 - LA5

_______ FIRST YEAR WEIGHTING AND RATING

Sector classification matrix

The pillars: Environmental, Social & Human Rights, Responsible Purchasing, Hygiene, Health / Safety and Governance are weighted according to the sector classification and the level of importance of the major and secondary impacts specific to each sector of activity.

The more the pillar has a significant negative impact on the activity of the organization, the more the performance in terms of rating will be important and may generate a “Gold” label of excellence fairmakers.

 

Example of sectors with E / SG weights varying between 40 and 60%: Oil, gas and fuels - transport - Real estate.

Key questions with high impacts specific to each industry

In order to ensure that materialities with high impacts on the overall rating of an activity are taken into account, four to six major specific problems of an industry are defined for each sector and are determined by a cumulative weighting of more than 50% in the entire assessment sent to the organization.

Example of major problems specific to the “Public service” sector:

›Facilitation of energy transition and resource efficiency

›Environmentally safe operation of factories and infrastructure

›Accessibility and reliability of energy and water supply

›Business ethics and government relations

›Worker safety and accident prevention

Example of major problems specific to the “Textile” sector :

›Social responsibility to promote the involvement of the voice of employees and workers

›Improvement of textile production and resource management

›Ethical behavior towards its stakeholders

›Promotion of sustainable consumption of textile products

›Worker safety and accident prevention

›Guarantee transparency over the entire production process

Employee voice rating: Premium "Employee-Centric" continuous assessment service

The Fairmakers assessment includes two levels of complementary services:

The ESSENTIAL Pack “The annual CSR assessment”

Includes an annual CSR assessment measuring the performance of an organization. This assessment is completed by a representative of an organization and does not include the voice of employees.

The PREMIUM “Employee-Centric” Pack for continuous CSR assessments

Includes an assessment based on a frequency of audits transmitted remotely directly, anonymously and without intermediary on the mobile phones or emails of employees or workers of the organization itself or its own suppliers, particularly in high-risk sectors.

The Fairmakers assessment is intended to be the most representative of the reality on sites. On average, in the annual CSR assessments, there is more than 35% difference between the organization's declaration and the reality experienced by employees / workers.

Rating scale from 0 to 100%

The overall evaluation is based on a rating varying between 0 and 100 (100 is equivalent to a maximum performance). The rating therefore takes into account the weightings on the major problems specific to each sector of activity, the voice of employees and the measurement of improvements with year n-1.

YEAR N + 1 WEIGHTING AND RATING

The notion of continuous improvement is essential to measure the impact of an efficient CSR / ESG strategy. Companies set targets for reducing energy consumption, and thus reduce their consumption costs. Another example would be the establishment of training programs to develop human capital while increasing its efficiency and productivity. The Fairmakers evaluation system takes into account the objective set by the organization and the comparison with the performance of other companies in the same industry with the same characteristics. Also, let's take into account the voice of employees and continuous improvements.

CSR PERFORMANCE SCORE

The performance score (FSP) is the translation of ratings ranging from “Very poor” to “Excellent” based on a scale of 0 to 100. The different sector materiality rankings reflect a very sector-specific approach to ratings. Fairmakers. In order to make the results as comparable as possible in all industries, the rating of sectoral materialities is set on the basis of a rating of 50/100 for all industries.

____ DIALOGUE-BASED SPECIFIC RATING PROCESS

In order to build a complete image of each company, the company that registers is invited to specify its strategic areas of materiality in order of importance, through a choice of SDG and ISO 26000 indicators.

Afin de construire une image complète de chaque entreprise, l’entreprise qui s’inscrit est invitée à spécifier ses axes de matérialité stratégiques par ordre d’importance, au travers un choix d’indicateurs ODD et ISO 26000.

Then, Fairmakers analysts verify, prepare a suitable valuation and collect information relevant to the rating both from the companies analyzed and the committee of independent experts.

During the rating process, considerable importance is attached to dialogue with the company evaluated. The scoring process illustrated above provides many opportunities for companies to comment and add information to interim results.

After finalization of the rating, the full rating report is submitted to the company.

____ EVALUATION OF CONTROVERSIAL ACTIVITIES

Fairmakers undertakes a comprehensive analysis of controversial activities and numerous business practices. Thus, our clients are able to consider, separately or in addition to the rating, the behavior and activities of a company in the areas they consider particularly critical.

Each case of Controversial Areas of Activity is examined according to:

  • the risks clearly attributed to the company,

  • the extent of the company's responsibility and

  • the seriousness of the case.

  • supplier rating vis-à-vis the ordering party

 

For the classification of the seriousness of the fault, the negative impacts are systematically evaluated.

 

In addition, it is examined whether, to what extent and with what success the company has taken measures to mitigate the impact, to compensate for it and to prevent similar incidents from recurring in the future.

Controversial Areas of Activity are assessed based on:

  • the revenue share of a specific product or

  • of the revenue share of the business as a whole.

  • whether the company is a producer or trader of the products in question.

 

Only sources classified by Fairmakers as trustworthy are used to assess the facts. In addition to verifiable activities, the presumed activities of companies are also assessed if the factual and detailed situation on the basis of these sources and taking into account the expertise of specialized analysts is deemed by them to be sufficiently reliable.

UPDATED REPORTS AND CSR DATA

Fairmakers corporate ratings are based on a step-by-step update process. All ratings are updated shortly thereafter if incidents such as controversies, accidents or mergers occur.

 

Corporate information, such as annual reports and sustainability reports, is typically assessed within three months. In addition, each company rating is reviewed annually. An in-depth dialogue with each company is carried out every two years.

Continuous update

Controversy assessment

  • International media sources

  • International NGOs

  • Scientific institutions

 

Business developments

  • Mergers

  • Acquisitions

  • Split

  • Assignment

Annual update

Company data

  • Annual reports

  • CSR reports

  • ESG website

 

 

ESG impact data

  • Resource efficiency and emissions intensity

  • Revenue data on relevant products and services

Subscribe to our newsletters

Notre méthodologie RSE

Fairmakers base ses évaluations et ses collectes de données RSE sur des standards et des normes internationaux et des réglementations locales :

Global Compact France (ODD), ISO 26000 et ISO 14001 en plus d'initiatives RSE sectorielles. 

_____ UNE ÉVALUATION RSE HARMONISÉE À DES STANDARDS INTERNATIONAUX

L’évaluation Fairmakers fournit une évaluation RSE pertinente des performances environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance de l'entreprise. 

 

L'analyse des performances ESG d'une entreprise, répond à des critères spécifiques propres au secteur d’activité et à la catégorie d’entreprise. Les indicateurs proposés par la plateforme Fairmakers sont adaptés à l’activité de chaque entreprise et garantissent une haute qualité d’analyse et une structure uniforme de notation. Les résultats sont examinés par le comité de validation interne de Fairmakers. 

Les questionnaires spécifiques et la méthodologie de notation sont régulièrement discutés avec le comité de notation externe de Fairmakers, composé d'experts ESG hautement reconnus.

INDICATEURS ET ÉVALUATIONS RSE/ ESG MULTISECTORIELS

48 critères ESG traités pour tous types d’industries sont évalués sur notre plateforme en SaaS Fairmakers. Les critères se basent sur 5 piliers.

Social & Droit de l'homme

Environnemental

Conditions de travail, travail d’enfants et travail forcé, discrimination et harcèlement, droits fondamentaux, liberté de syndicalisation, gestion de carrière et formation, dialogue social, migrations de la main d’oeuvre, participation des salariés, égalité des chances.

Consommation d’énergie et gaz à effet de serre, eau, biodiversité, pollution locale et accidentelle, matériaux/produits chimiques et déchets, produits en fin de vie, gestion économe des ressources, prévention et sensibilisation des personnes sur l’environnement.

Achats responsables

Hygiène, Santé & Sécurité

Éthique & Gouvernance

Consommation durable, sourcing responsable, engagement pour le bien-être commun, sensibilisation des équipes et intégration des indicateurs, engagements des fournisseurs, traçabilité des approvisionnements, innocuité produits, amélioration continue.

Santé et sécurité des employés, hygiène au travail, stress psychosociaux, communautés locales, implication au sein de la société , organisation, accidentologie, bien-être et risques psychosociaux.

Raison d’être, équipes intégrées à 

la RSE, corruption et transparence, pratiques anti-concurrentielles, gestion responsable de l’information, taxes et fiscalité, égalité et intégrité, prévention des risques et sensibilisation des parties prenantes, devoir de vigilance, relation clients

Harmonisation des standards ISO 26000 & ISO 14001, GRI

et ODD Global Compact ONU

L’évaluation RSE Fairmakers se base sur une méthode harmonisée des principaux standards internationaux. Afin de faciliter l’élaboration de rapports extra-financiers, la norme ISO 26000 a été harmonisée avec les principaux standards Global Compact et le GRI.

 

L’évaluation Fairmakers se veut la plus neutre possible afin de permettre une comparabilité de performances entre les différentes organisations quel que soit le standard adopté. 

Fairmakers s'aligne sur les 10 principes du Global Compact et les 17 ODD qui sont un agenda partagé.

Exemple :

ISO 26000

7.6 Améliorer la crédibilité en matière de responsabilité sociétale

6.4.3 Relations et conditions de travail : emploi et relations employeur/employé

GLOBAL COMPACT

-

SDG 3

GRI

3.5 - 3.6 - 3.7 - 3.8 - 3.9 - 3.10 - 3.11 - 3.12 - 3.13

LA4 - LA5

_______ PONDÉRATION ET NOTATION PREMIÈRE ANNÉE

Matrice de classification sectorielle

Les piliers : Environnemental, Social & droits de l’homme, Achats responsables, Hygiène santé/sécurité et Gouvernance sont pondérés en fonction de la classification sectorielle et du niveau d’importance des impacts majeurs et secondaires spécifiques  à chaque secteur d'activité. 

Plus le pilier a un impact négatif important sur l’activité de l’organisation, plus la performance au niveau de la notation sera importante et pourra générer un label d’excellence fairmakers “Or”. 

 

Exemple de secteurs comportant des pondérations E/SG variant entre 40 et 60% : Pétrole, gaz et carburants - transport - Immobilier.

Questions clés à impacts élevés spécifiques à chaque industrie

Afin de garantir la prise en compte des matérialités à impacts élevés sur la notation globale d’une activité, quatre à six problèmes spécifiques majeurs d’une industrie sont définis pour chaque secteur et sont déterminés par une pondération cumulée de plus de 50% dans l'ensemble de l’évaluation transmise à l’organisation.

Exemple de problèmes majeurs spécifiques au secteur “Service public” :

› Facilitation de la transition énergétique et de l'efficacité des ressources

› Exploitation écologiquement sûre des usines et des infrastructures 

› Accessibilité et fiabilité de l'approvisionnement en énergie et en eau

› Éthique des affaires et relations gouvernementales 

› Sécurité des travailleurs et prévention des accidents

Exemple de problèmes majeurs spécifiques au secteur “Textile” :

› Responsabilité sociale à promouvoir l’implication la voix des employés et des ouvriers

›Amélioration de la production textile et de la gestion des ressources

› Comportement éthique vis à vis de ses parties-prenantes

› Promotion d’une consommation durable des produits textiles

› Sécurité des travailleurs et prévention des accidents

›Garantir la transparence sur l'ensemble du processus de production

Notation de la voix des employés : service Premium d'évaluations continues "Employee-Centric" 

L’évaluation Fairmakers comprend deux niveaux de services complémentaires :

Le Pack ESSENTIAL “L'évaluation RSE annuelle”

Comporte une évaluation RSE annuelle mesurant la performance d’une organisation. Cette évaluation est complétée par un représentant d’une organisation et n’inclut pas la voix des employés.

La Pack PREMIUM “Employee-Centric" des évaluations RSE en continu 

Comporte une évaluation basée sur une fréquence d’audits transmis à distance directement, anonymement et sans intermédiaire sur les téléphones portables ou mails des employés ou ouvriers de l’organisation elle-même ou de ses propres fournisseurs notamment sur des secteurs à risques élevés.

L’évaluation Fairmakers se veut la plus représentative de la réalité sur sites. En moyenne dans les évaluations RSE annuelles, on compte plus de 35% d’écart entre le déclaratif de l’organisation et la réalité vécue par les employés/ouvriers.

Échelle de notation de 0 à 100%

L’évaluation globale se base sur une notation variant entre 0 et 100%(100 équivaut à une performance maximum). La notation prend donc en compte les pondérations sur les problèmes majeurs propres à chaque secteur d’activité, la voix des employés et la mesure d’améliorations avec l’année n-1. 

PONDÉRATION ET NOTATION ANNÉE N+1

La notion d’amélioration continue est primordiale pour mesurer l’impact d’une stratégie RSE/ESG efficiente. Les entreprises se fixent des objectifs de réduction de consommation d'énergie, et réduisent ainsi leurs coûts de consommation. Un autre exemple serait la mise en place de programmes de formation pour développer le capital humain tout en augmentant son efficacité et sa productivité. Le système d’évaluation Fairmakers prend en compte l’objectif fixé par l’organisation et la comparaison avec les performances d’autres entreprises du même secteur d’activité ayant les mêmes caractéristiques. Aussi, veuillons à la prise en compte de la Voix des employés et des améliorations en continu.

SCORE RSE DE PERFORMANCE

Le score de performance (FSP) est la traduction des notations allant de “Très médiocre” à “Excellent” basé sur une échelle de 0 à 100. Les différents classements de matérialités sectorielles reflètent une approche très spécifique au secteur en ce qui concerne les notations Fairmakers. Afin de rendre les résultats les plus comparables possible dans toutes les industries, la notation des matérialités sectorielles est fixée sur la base d’une notation de 50/100 pour toutes les industries.

____ PROCESSUS DE NOTATION SPÉCIFIQUE AXÉ SUR LE DIALOGUE

Afin de construire une image complète de chaque entreprise, l’entreprise qui s’inscrit est invitée à spécifier ses axes de matérialité stratégiques par ordre d’importance, au travers un choix d’indicateurs ODD et ISO 26000.

Afin de construire une image complète de chaque entreprise, l’entreprise qui s’inscrit est invitée à spécifier ses axes de matérialité stratégiques par ordre d’importance, au travers un choix d’indicateurs ODD et ISO 26000.

Ensuite, les analystes de Fairmakers vérifient, préparent une évaluation adaptée et collectent les informations pertinentes pour la notation à la fois auprès des sociétés analysées et du comité d’experts indépendants. 

Au cours du processus de notation, une importance considérable est attachée au dialogue avec l'entreprise évaluée. Le processus de notation illustré ci-dessus offre aux entreprises de nombreuses occasions de commenter et d'ajouter des informations aux résultats provisoires.

Après finalisation de la notation, le rapport de notation complet est remis à l'entreprise.

____ ÉVALUATION D’ACTIVITÉS CONTROVERSÉES

Fairmakers entreprend une analyse complète des activités controversées et des nombreuses pratiques commerciales. Ainsi, nos clients sont en mesure de considérer, séparément ou en plus de la notation, le comportement et les activités d'une entreprise dans les domaines qu'ils considèrent comme particulièrement critique. 

Chaque cas de Domaines d’activités controversées est examiné selon :

  • les risques clairement attribués à l'entreprise,

  • l’étendue de la responsabilité de l'entreprise et 

  • la gravité du cas. 

  • la notation fournisseurs vis à vis du donneur d’ordre

 

Pour la classification de la gravité de la faute, les impacts négatifs sont systématiquement évalués. 

 

En outre, il est examiné si, dans quelle mesure et avec quel succès l'entreprise a pris des mesures pour atténuer l'impact, pour le compenser et pour éviter que des incidents similaires ne se reproduisent à l'avenir.

Les Domaines d’activités controversées sont évalués en fonction de : 

  • la part de revenu d'un produit spécifique ou

  • de la part de revenu de l'entreprise dans son ensemble. 

  • si l’entreprise est productrice ou négociante des produits en question. 

 

Seules les sources classées par Fairmakers comme dignes de confiance sont utilisées pour évaluer les faits. Outre les activités vérifiables, les activités présumées des entreprises sont également évaluées si la situation factuelle et circonstanciée sur la base de ces sources et compte tenu de l'expertise des analystes spécialisés est jugée par elles comme suffisamment fiable. 

RAPPORTS ET DONNÉES RSE À JOUR

Les notations d'entreprise Fairmakers sont basées sur un processus de mise à jour par étapes. Toutes les notes sont mises à jour peu de temps après si des incidents tels que des controverses, des accidents ou des fusions se produisent. 

 

Les informations d'entreprise, comme les rapports annuels et les rapports de développement durable, sont généralement évaluées dans un délai de trois mois. De plus, chaque notation d'entreprise est revue annuellement. Un dialogue approfondi avec chaque entreprise est mené tous les deux ans.

Mise à jour en continue

Évaluation de la controverse 

  • Sources médiatiques internationales 

  • ONG internationales 

  • Institutions scientifiques 

 

Développements d'entreprises 

  • Fusions 

  • Acquisitions 

  • Scission 

  • Cession

Mise à jour annuelle 

Données de l'entreprise 

  • Rapports annuels 

  • Rapports RSE 

  • Site Web ESG

 


 

Données d'impact ESG

  • Efficacité des ressources et intensité des émissions 

  • Données de revenus sur les produits et services pertinents

S'abonner à la newsletter

AIDE

FAQs

Contact